Straddling the Line

I try to stay fairly positive on this blog. One of the reasons I started it was to give hope to other sex and love addicts still suffering in their addictions. I have been having a hard time the last couple of months, though. I slipped up a bunch in December. Since then I have been more or less sticking to my bottom-lines. There is a big difference between following the letter of the law and the spirit of the law and I’ve only been doing the former, finding sneaky ways to act out without breaking my bottom lines.

I met Carson at the end of December. In The Downward Spiral, I mentioned that I was going to meet someone off of Craigslist. I did meet him. Like me, he’s the typical person you’ll meet on Craigslist: damaged. We have a lot in common, actually. Carson is attractive, and talented; but going through a hard time. He recently lost his job, he’s broke, he just got a DUI, and he’s extremely depressed. If it wasn’t for SLAA, I would have had sex with Carson that night. Instead I just listened to his sad story.

After our initial meeting, we had some flirty texts and phone conversations until I felt guilty about leading him on and told him I was in SLAA. I also told him I couldn’t have sex outside of a committed relationship. Carson, who really is a good guy, understood and we started a platonic (ish) friendship. Which would be fine, except that Carson is an unavailable male and unavailable men are my drug of choice. I’ve been using Carson.

I keep trying to see how far I can push things with him. Then I get mad when he respects the boundaries I had previously put forth. I keep twisting his words around, using them to play out this sick narrative I’ve had in my head since childhood: I’m the girl that nobody wants. In my head, Carson (who has completely valid, healthy reasons for not wanting a relationship) doesn’t want to be in a relationship with me, because no one ever would want to be in a relationship with me.

The thing that is surprising to me about this “friendship” is that there is the same exact dynamic going on that was present in all of my previous love addicted relationships. I would choose men who were clearly unavailable for a longterm relationship, start a casual sexual relationship with them and then get hurt when they didn’t want a longterm relationship with me. I thought taking sex out of the equation would magically change all of this, but apparently that’s not how it works.

Friday I was working near Carson’s apartment (I work in different locations everyday) so I stopped by for a drink after work. I was more than sufficiently buzzed after two beers (they were strong), but had a third. Carson also appeared to be buzzed after two beers, but kept drinking…. and drinking, and drinking. I had previously suspected that Carson might have a drinking problem, but Friday confirmed it.

His intoxication was not attractive. I wanted to leave, but I needed to sober up before I could drive. At one point I was laying across Carson’s couch, and he came up behind me and swatted my ass. This spanking was the closest I’ve come to sexual activity in eight months and it really turned me on. At the same time, I was repulsed by how drunk he was. When I stood up, I let him push me up against the wall and spank me a few more times. But I pushed his hands away when they tried to go down my pants and up my shirt.

If he had been less intoxicated, I know I would have let Carson fuck me, but instead I found him gross and out of control. When, barely able to stand up, he slurred, “Let’s go get a bottle of wine,” I knew it was time to leave.

I’ve been straddling the line between acting out and recovery since December. I am not having sex with anyone, but I’m also not doing step work. There has been no forward motion in my recovery, or my life.

There is another inappropriate relationship I’m engaged in as well. I reestablished a friendship with my ex-Dom Anthony. I have started to write about Anthony at least half a dozen times on here, but there is so much complicated backstory I don’t even know where to begin.

Yesterday I was talking to my sponsor and she said that I am making Anthony my higher power. She’s right. She also said that both Carson and Anthony need to go on my bottom lines list. She’s also right about that, but I don’t want to deal with adding more qualifiers to my no contact list. One is hard enough already. I told her I wasn’t willing to cut off contact with Anthony and Carson at this point, but I would pray for willingness.

I’m also struggling with food. I don’t want to do anything right now but eat, or act out. At some point I know I am probably going to end up in Overeaters Anonymous, but I feel like I have to get my SLAA issues under control before I add another 12-step program to the mix.

For today, I’m praying for willingness — willingness to stop stuffing my face; willingness to stop doing whatever it is I’m doing with Carson; willingness to stop my dependency on Anthony; willingness to start Step 4; willingness to get out of bed; willingness to clean my apartment; willingness to find a better job; willingness to become a healthy person.

19 comments on “Straddling the Line

  1. Opheliac says:

    Hey luv, i am so sorry to hear you’re struggling, i’m having some issues currently as well, so this entry really spoke to me. i will pray for you as well.

  2. Gillian Colbert says:

    Be kind to yourself … at the risk of sounding sanctimonious, the only person who doesn’t want you is you. I know that feeling even if I’ve never been this sort of addict. I’ve very much been addicted to damaging behavior. There is certainty in damage and failure and hope is a painful emotion.

    You’re often in my thoughts, I’m pulling for you.

    GC

  3. I so understan what you’re going through. Stuff face right now. 😦 I will send some positive vibes out into the universe for you and myself.

  4. lexiconlover says:

    My willingness is waning. I am in awe of your ability to keep stepping into that ring and throw down against this enemy of addiction. Keep working the program, keep moving forward, you ARE worth it, and as someone who has been watching from a distance; you ARE getting there!

  5. Jim says:

    As I was reading your post I kept thinking, “she makes her acting out partners her higher power.” Listen to your sponsor. 12-step work is a *spiritual* program – our own sheer will doesn’t work – it never has. Keep on working it!

    • Imperfect says:

      Thanks for your encouragement, Jim. I’ve really been focusing a lot on my relationship with my Higher Power the last few weeks. Spirituality seems to be the key to my recovery. Turning my will and my life over doesn’t come easy to me, though. It’s something I have to work on every single day.

      • Jim says:

        So funny – I’m starting my second step and Higher Power has been sometimes easy, and sometimes elusive for me. Yesterday, I read Step 2 from the 12 & 12 and realized that all my life I’ve been saying “I wanted X and God gave me Y.” But really I should be saying, “God gave me Y, and I will accept that, even though I wanted X.”

  6. Hey there Imperfect. We haven’t heard from you in a little while. Thinking of you and awaiting any news. I hope you’re well.

    • Imperfect says:

      Hey. Thanks for checking in on me. I’m actually doing really well, but haven’t had much chance to write lately. I will post some new stuff soon.

  7. I love your blog!! There’s so much inside me that I can relate to about these sexual impulses and dissatisfaction I get from sexual encounters disguised as love in my eyes :(.

    I nominated you for the versatile blogger award
    http://borderlinepersonalityjournal.wordpress.com/2012/03/04/the-versatile-blogger-award/

  8. Good, I’m glad you are doing well. I was wondering too!

Leave a Reply

