I’m Cured!

Just kidding, I’m not even close. I did, however, have a very proud recovery moment tonight. HC contacted me after nearly four months. He said he missed me and that I had been on his mind a lot. If he had sent the same text two months ago, I would have wrote back, “I miss you too. I think about you all the time.” Instead, I thanked him, but told him I was no longer available.

While I’d like to think this means I am “cured” from my sex and love addiction, the fact that this happened a few hours ago and I am still shaking, tells me otherwise.

My sponsor says that even though I wasn’t looking for it, I took a big “hit” off my drug tonight, and I should expect some major withdrawals.

I don’t talk about the God stuff too much on here, because before I got into recovery it used to weird me out a little to hear people going on about God (probably an issue for another post). I’m still a little uncomfortable talking about my relationship with my Higher Power. But I need to mention him in this entry, because tonight he did for me what I could not do for myself.

 

2 comments on “I’m Cured!

  1. Cooper says:

    I am glad you were able to deal with HC in a healthy manner. I am impressed you were able to reply to him with politeness. Ultimately, I hope you can continue on this path, and that you continue to see that you deserve to be treated with respect. It is also worth mentioning that the more you respect yourself, the less likely you will put up with the bullshit and the disrespect that some men might bring your way. I hope you stay strong!

Leave a Reply

