Snapped Back In

In my last entry, I wrote about how I’ve been struggling the last week or so to stay present and how I had to keep forcing myself to take contrary action. I’d been kind of taking a mental vacation, but today I received some stressful news and I was forced to snap out of it.

If I don’t find a less expensive apartment and cut down my costs as soon as possible, I won’t be able to pay my rent in a few months, and I won’t have any savings left. Since I am a sex a love addict, I “sexualize stress, guilt, loneliness, anger, shame, fear and envy” and I “use sex or emotional dependence as substitutes for nurturing care, and support.” My first reaction was to find some man to take care or me, fuck the stress away, and make it all better. As appealing as that strategy sounds, I know from past experiences it does not really work out so well in the long run. So I’ve been facing the stress head-on — looking at apartments (I actually forgot craigslist could be used for something other than finding dates/sex partners), contacting consignment stores to sell some furniture I have in storage, and dealing with other money dramas.

I even placed an ad on craigslist (no, not that kind of ad) for housing wanted. I know it’s a long shot, but my sponsor always says to put things out to the Universe. My hope is some kindly mansion-dweller will be charmed by my ad and rent out a room to me. You never know, right?

Since I can’t deal with the stress I’m feeling now with sex, I used yoga, my sex alternative. I took a class today, and it was really hard for me to let go of my stress. My teacher had to keep reminding me to breath. We did a lot of hip openers in this class. I have always heard that hip openers can make people really emotional because feelings like guilt and stress that go unresolved are usually stored in the hips. I never really bought this because I am full of un-dealt-with emotions and my hips are so open I can do the splits. But the hip openers we were doing today were different poses from the ones I usually do, and stretched a different area than I am used to. I actually started crying in class! Luckily, I was able to quickly get myself together, and I don’t think anyone noticed.

Even though today has been stressful, I am grateful that I am able to be present, and that I am dealing with my affairs like an adult.

 

 

 

4 comments on “Snapped Back In

  1. Ramona says:

    I was wondering, if you are struggling with rent, how do you afford to take yoga? Seems like your priorities are a bit screwed up. I say that to make a point. The point is, health and food and rent should come first, before drama of men and sex and entertainment. Your notes seem dramatic, I don’t know if that is a writer’s flair or if your situation is really that bad.
    But honestly, why do you feel the need to air your dirty secrets here even anonymously? Why can’t you write in a cute diary and keep it private?

  2. pivoine68 says:

    I used yoga to help me to stop drinking. I felt so good when I was doing it, I thought, why do I always have to do things that are harmful to me when I can get quite high with yoga. It wasn’t enough to keep me on the path though. Unfortunately.

    PS: Who does that Ramona think she is???

Leave a Reply

