I Love You

Love_breaks_Walls

I love you.

Regardless of what the number says on the scale, I love you.

If you gain fifty pounds, I will still love you.

If you lose fifty pounds, I will love you then, too.

I will love you if you spend two hours everyday at the gym, and I will love you if you never go to the gym again.

Your body might not be perfect, but to me it is.

I love every pale, veiny, dimpled inch.

I love you when your jeans fit, and I love you when they don’t.

I love you when your hair is shiny, bouncing and glossy, and I love you when it is tangled, unwashed and frizzy.

If you spend all your money and go broke, I will still love you.

If you make a lot of money and invest it wisely, I will love you then too.

I will love you regardless of your credit score.

No matter how big or small your home is, I will love you.

I will love you when you keep it spotless, and I will love you when you don’t clean for weeks.

When every dish you own is dirty and in the sink, I love you.

When they are clean and stacked neatly in the cupboard, I love you then, too.

I will love you if he calls, and I will love you if he doesn’t.

If you get married and have four kids, I will love you.

And I will love you if you never marry and live with twenty cats.

For I will always love you.

7 comments on “I Love You

  1. bossymoksie says:

    Self love is always good lovin! :)

    • Imperfect says:

      Thanks Moksie! This is how I talk to myself now. In the past it was always a litany of all my flaws and imperfections. I like this new inner dialog so much better.

  2. lexiconlover says:

    I wish I could think this of me …..maybe one day :)

    • Imperfect says:

      I so want this for you Lexi.

      I thank God that I am now, for probably the first time ever, in a relationship with someone who loves and respects me. Coming into program I thought that my problem was that I didn’t know how to have a healthy relationship with a romantic partner. Yet I came to find I did not know how to have one with myself. Today my life is full of healthy relationships, but the most important ones are between myself and me, and myself and my Higher Power.

  3. Bratt says:

    I just read this and thought, “wow, these are such great ideas about how to love your significant other…I definitely do that.” When I realized this post was about how to love yourself, I teared up and realized how far from that I am right now. I’ve been to three SLAA meetings in the past week. I’m sad and trying to break away from the urges I have to try to maintain a relationship with a man who I also believe struggles with this addiction…we have destroyed each other. We had both a wonderful and a terrible relationship, both healthy and sincere at times, and also full of drama and toxicity.
    The cyber stalking is really the hardest habit to break. Thanks for your writing. It’s really honest and inspiring.

    • Imperfect says:

      Hi Bratt. Thanks for finding my blog. When I first started coming to SLAA, I thought I would know that I had made progress in my recovery once I learned how to be in a healthy relationship with a man. As it turns out, I learned how to be in a healthy relationship with myself. I don’t believe you can authentically love another person or accept love from another person unless you truly love yourself first. So glad that you are going to meetings. Keep coming back.

Leave a Reply

